Fault and Insurance Claims for Orange County Car Accidents

If you have gotten in a car accident in California, you have likely dealt with insurance companies. Insurance companies, even your own, can be notoriously difficult to deal with — first protecting their bottom line and not necessarily their policy holder’s. An experienced car accident attorney can help you navigate the insurance claim process, ensuring you receive the compensation your damages deserve.

California is a fault state

For purposes of liability, and insurance, California is a fault state. In an at-fault state, the person responsible for the car accident is also responsible for the resulting losses, including medical bills and property damage. Unlike many other states, California car insurance laws operate under the tort system, where individuals have the right to sue one another for compensation for bodily injury and loss resulting from an auto accident. This is true no matter how severe the accident.

After you are involved in an auto accident in California, you will want to file a claim with your auto insurance company within a few days of the accident. Your insurance company will have 15 days to acknowledge your claim. After the claim has been acknowledged and the insurance company has received documentation and proof, they then have 40 days maximum to approve or deny the claim. Should a settlement be reached, the insurance company then has 30 days to make the payment.  During this process, you will want your accident attorney negotiating aggressively on your behalf.

Who determines fault?

As discussed above, California adheres to the at-fault insurance system in determining who will pay for damages in an auto accident, including injuries, lost wages, and property damage. Generally speaking, the courts must determine fault for compensation. With the right injury attorney on their side, victims will get the proper reimbursement for damages they’ve sustained from the car accident.

Steps to follow after an accident in California

If you are involved in a car accident in Orange County, you will want to take the following proactive steps… And contact a skilled injury attorney as soon as possible.

1.     Call 911.

2.     Take photos of the scene.

3.     Seek prompt medical treatment.

4.     Hire an accident attorney.

At Dennis Law Group, we believe that an individual should not be forced to suffer because of another driver’s negligence. Our car accident attorneys are dedicated to helping the injured and their loved ones recover and get back to their daily routine. At times, some injury victims may not be capable of returning to work for an extended period of time, which can become a burden for the entire family. Our legal team is here to help lift that burden and make sure you receive just compensation for your injuries.

Call our office or complete the contact form on our website to set up a consultation. With a local office in Irvine, we proudly serve Orange County.DLG_4